October 31st, 2011

2011 Courage in Journalism Awards

The International Women’s Media Foundation honored the winners of the 2011 Courage in Journalism Awards with two award ceremonies, in New York and Los Angeles. The awards are “the only international awards honoring the bravery of women journalists.”

This year’s winners were Adela Navarro Bello of Mexico, Parisa Hafezi of Iran, Chiranuch (Jiew) Premchaiporn of Thailand, and Lifetime Achievement Award winner Kate Adie of the UK. (Photo via IWMF)

Jeanne Brooks, Community Manager for ONA, and Jennifer Mizgata, Social Media Manager for ONA, live-tweeted the inspiring event in New York. 

All four women have taken major risks to report the news, prioritizing reporting over their own safety in many instances. To see more tweets, photos, and a video message to the award recipients from Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, check out this Storify post

  1. syaaheeraah reblogged this from onaissues
  2. onaissues posted this
Loading tweets...


There are any number of pressing media issues in the digital age -- we're sure you can come up with a handful without breaking a sweat. ONA Issues is your platform to define them, share them, explore them and get a better fix on how they impact the work you do. Here we'll look to you for your perspectives and conversations and help jump-start discussions by posting insightful reporting, commentary and analysis from anywhere and everywhere. We're here to listen and learn. Join us.